Bookmark and Share

Courses in philosophical and religious inquiry have been taught at LSU since the founding of the university. The Department of Philosophy was organized as a separate academic unit in the 1930s, and a separate Religious Studies Program was added in 1980.  The department took its present name in 1997. The department office is located in 102 Coates Hall.

The department currently offers

  • an undergraduate major in Philosophy
  • an undergraduate major in Philosophy with a concentration in Religious Studies
  • undergraduate minors in both Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • the Master of Arts in Philosophy